Startup grants and free support in Saudi Arabia in 2026: what you do not pay back
Short answer: the largest cash grant for an early Saudi tech startup is NTDP MVPLab, which pays up to SAR 150,000 (about $40,000) plus workspace and mentoring once you have an MVP or a feasibility study. R&D-based startups can win grants from RDIA's Startup Innovation Grant Program when a call is open, and join the RDIA Virtual Cluster at any time. Most other support is in kind: Monsha'at Virtual Lab vouchers pay approved providers to build your prototype, Monsha'at's sector accelerators are free, and Makken subsidises cloud and cybersecurity for early fintechs. Several of these programs run in cohorts, so check the status shown next to each one.
The Grant Index tracks 12 programs that Saudi startups can use, including regional ones, each checked against its official page (the date is in the "Verified" column). This guide covers non-repayable support only: grants, vouchers and free programs. We leave out loans, loan guarantees and anything that takes equity or uses a SAFE. For the wider region, see our MENA startup grants guide.
1. Government grants for tech and R&D
Saudi Arabia's direct grants for startups come from the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT) and from the Research, Development and Innovation Authority (RDIA). Award sizes are set per program or per call.
| Program | What you get | Who qualifies | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| NTDP MVPLab pausedNational Technology Development Program (MCIT) | Grant up to SAR 150,000 (~$40k) + workspace, mentorship and training | Tech startups that have completed an MVP or a feasibility study. A startup can benefit only once. Many seats come through MCIT CODE programs, and some tracks need a Saudi commercial registration. | 2026-10 |
| RDIA Startup Innovation Grant Program (SIGP) pausedResearch, Development and Innovation Authority (RDIA) | Non-dilutive R&D grant funding for startups and SMEs; award size not published | R&D-based Saudi startups and SMEs. Calls are tied to specific demand challenges and national RDI priorities; award size and criteria are published per call on the Saudi Minds portal. | 2026-10 |
| RDIA National RDI Virtual ClusterResearch, Development and Innovation Authority (RDIA) | Membership giving access to RDI programs, services and partnerships; no cash value stated | R&D-based startups, SMEs and entrepreneurs with a clear R&D component. You get access to RDIA programs, services and partners, not cash. | 2026-10 |
| MCIT CODE Tech Champions pausedCenter of Digital Entrepreneurship (CODE), MCIT | Incubation + pathway to MVPLab support of up to SAR 150,000 (~$40k) | ICT startups matching the edition's theme (edition 6 focused on AI solutions in Riyadh). Edition 6 closed on 19 April 2026, and the MVPLab grant is not automatic. | 2026-10-23 |
How MVPLab and CODE fit together. MVPLab is the grant; CODE's incubators (Tech Champions and others) are a common way in. CODE's program page currently lists Tech Founders, Incubation and Code Nine 66, but not Tech Champions, so confirm that a 2027 edition exists before you plan around it. You can also apply to MVPLab directly through the NTDP portal.
How to get ready for an RDIA call. SIGP awards follow the challenges RDIA publishes, so the best preparation is to create your Saudi Minds account, read the open challenges and register in the Virtual Cluster, which is open now for the 2026 cohort.
2. Monsha'at: vouchers and free accelerators
Monsha'at, the SME General Authority, mostly gives support in kind rather than cash. Its programs are free to join and take no equity.
| Program | What you get | Who qualifies | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monsha'at Virtual Lab Support VouchersMonsha'at (SME General Authority) | Vouchers covering part or all of prototyping service costs (3D printing, design/modelling, manufacturing advice); cap not published | Entrepreneurs and idea owners in Saudi Arabia, including students. Vouchers are spent only with service providers listed on the Virtual Lab platform; assessed on innovation, documentation, commercial viability and scalability. | 2026-10 |
| Monsha'at Sector Business AcceleratorsMonsha'at (SME General Authority) | Free-of-charge sector accelerators (e.g. EdTech, Real Estate Innovation, Dates, Franchise); funding varies by program | Saudi startups in the sector of each accelerator (for example EdTech, real estate innovation, dates or franchising). Registration, documents, evaluation and interviews; benefits vary by accelerator. | 2026-10 |
| Monsha'at FinTech Accelerator pausedMonsha'at (SME General Authority) | Free 3-month accelerator; financing grant for the first 10 companies reaching the accelerator phase (amount not stated) | Applicants 18+ in teams of up to 3 with a national ID; non-Saudi companies need at least one Saudi founding partner. Only the first 10 companies to reach the accelerator phase get the financing grant. | 2026-10 |
| Monsha'at University Startup Accelerator pausedMonsha'at (SME General Authority) | Free acceleration for student/graduate startups run with Saudi universities; no cash amount stated | Students and graduates (within two years) of a Saudi university, run in cohorts with each university. | 2026-10 |
Monsha'at does not publish voucher caps for the Virtual Lab; you can ask at [email protected] before you request one. The voucher can cover part or all of a service such as 3D printing, design and modelling, or manufacturing advice.
3. Fintech and private programs
| Program | What you get | Who qualifies | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Makken (Fintech Saudi Infrastructure Support)Fintech Saudi (SAMA & CMA) | Subsidized cloud, cybersecurity and tech infrastructure + advisory for early-stage fintechs; no program fees | Saudi-registered fintechs, more than 51% Saudi-owned, with an activity regulated by SAMA or CMA (directly, in the sandbox or in Fintech Lab), that have raised no more than SAR 10M. No program fees; services you choose from third parties may cost extra. | 2026-10 |
| The Garage Accelerator (Riyadh) pausedThe Garage | Free facilities, workshops and perks for Garage program companies; no cash amount published | Startups that already have sales. All facilities are free for companies in Garage programs; calls are announced on The Garage's social channels, and review takes about 2 to 3 months. | 2026-10 |
Makken launched in December 2023 for about three years and up to 150 fintechs, so check that capacity remains before you apply.
4. Regional programs open to Saudi startups
Google's two MENA programs are equity-free and include Saudi Arabia. Both are closed for 2026.
| Program | What you get | Who qualifies | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google for Startups Accelerator: Middle East, North Africa and Turkey pausedGoogle | Equity-free mentoring and Google product credits, plus Cloud credits of up to $350K in year one (subject to Google Cloud tier eligibility) | Seed to Series A startups across MENA and Turkey; ten weeks; cohorts of 10 to 15. The 2026 window ran 13 July to 31 August; the next dates are not announced. Cloud credits depend on Google Cloud tier eligibility. | 2026-10-23 |
| Google for Startups Growth Academy: Women in AI (MENA) pausedGoogle for Startups | Equity-free 6-week program with Google mentoring and product credits (amount not stated) | Pre-seed MENA AI startups with at least one female founder and some users or revenue; six weeks, with sessions in Dubai and Riyadh. Cohorts usually open early in the year. | 2026-10-23 |
For compute and software, many global credit programs are open worldwide. See our cloud credits guide and AI credits guide.
5. Which program fits your stage
- Idea stage or student: register on Monsha'at's Virtual Lab and request a prototyping voucher; join a university startup accelerator if your university runs one.
- MVP or feasibility study done: apply to NTDP MVPLab, or enter through a CODE incubator.
- R&D-heavy product: join the RDIA Virtual Cluster now, then watch Saudi Minds for SIGP calls that match your technology.
- Fintech: check Makken (if you are SAMA- or CMA-regulated and raised SAR 10M or less) and the next Monsha'at FinTech Accelerator cohort.
- Already selling: The Garage accelerator, a Monsha'at sector accelerator, or Google's MENA accelerator from seed stage.
6. Rules that sink applications
- Ownership and registration. Makken needs more than 51% Saudi ownership. The Monsha'at FinTech Accelerator needs a Saudi founding partner for non-Saudi companies, and some MVPLab tracks need a Saudi commercial registration.
- Applying too early. MVPLab expects a finished MVP or feasibility study, and The Garage wants startups that already have sales.
- Using a one-time benefit too soon. MVPLab can be used only once per startup, so apply when the grant can take you to a clear milestone.
- Missing the cohort. Most programs here open in windows. Watch the program page and the provider's social channels, and prepare documents in advance.
- Treating vouchers as cash. Virtual Lab vouchers pay listed service providers directly; you cannot spend them elsewhere.
FAQ
Are there government startup grants in Saudi Arabia?
Yes. NTDP MVPLab (MCIT) pays up to SAR 150,000 to tech startups with an MVP or feasibility study, and RDIA's Startup Innovation Grant Program funds R&D-based startups through calls on the Saudi Minds portal. Monsha'at gives prototyping vouchers and free accelerators rather than cash.
How much is the MVPLab grant?
Up to SAR 150,000 (about $40,000), plus workspace, mentoring and training. A startup can benefit only once, and many seats are awarded through MCIT CODE programs.
Can foreign founders get these grants?
Some programs need Saudi ownership or a Saudi partner: Makken needs more than 51% Saudi ownership, and the Monsha'at FinTech Accelerator accepts non-Saudi companies only with a Saudi founding partner. Check each program page for its rules.
Do these programs take equity?
No. Everything in this guide is a grant, a voucher or a free program. We leave out loans, loan guarantees and equity or SAFE investments.
Is there support specifically for student founders in Saudi Arabia?
Yes. The Monsha'at University Startup Accelerator is for students and recent graduates of Saudi universities, and the Virtual Lab vouchers are open to students. See also our guide to startup grants for students.
Program terms change often. Every program page linked above shows its official source and the date we last verified it; confirm on the provider's page before you apply. Spotted something out of date? Report a correction.
Related guides
Browse the full lists: Startup programs in Saudi Arabia · Startup programs in Egypt