TheGrantIndex
TheGrantIndex / Countries / United Kingdom

Startup grants and programs in the United Kingdom (2026)

Updated · Built from The Grant Index data; every program links its official source and the date we last verified it

We track 12 programs open to startups in the United Kingdom beyond the worldwide ones: 6 national or local and 6 regional programs that include the United Kingdom. All 12 are open now. By type: Government Grants (4), Business SaaS (2), GPU & Compute (2), Banking & Payments (1), AI Models & APIs (1).

The largest headline value among open national or local programs is Innovate UK Frontier AI: SME Champions, Phase 1 from Innovate UK (UKRI) (Projects with £150,000–£250,000 total costs; grant up to 70% for micro/small firms…). 4 of the national programs are government grants, vouchers or tax credits; 3 of them come from Innovate UK (UKRI). 1 accepts students or researchers. The next dated deadline or opening is 11 November 2026 (Innovate UK Frontier AI: SME Champions, Phase 1). On top of these, 234 worldwide programs (mostly cloud, AI and software credits) are open to United Kingdom-based startups; the eligibility checker filters all of them for your company.

National and local programs in the United Kingdom (6)

ProgramWhat you getTypeStatusVerified
Innovate UK Frontier AI: SME Champions, Phase 1Innovate UK (UKRI)Projects with £150,000–£250,000 total costs; grant up to 70% for micro/small firms (≈£175k max). £3.1M pot. Phase 2 (up to £1M) by…Innovation grant (AI)Open2026-10-23
Innovate UK Efficient, Structured and Controllable AI SystemsInnovate UK (UKRI)Projects with £50,000–£150,000 total costs; grant up to 70% for micro/small firms (≈£105k max). £1.66M pot.Innovation grant (AI)Open2026-10-23
Airwallex for StartupsAirwallexStage-based offers (e.g. AU seed: 3 months Airwallex Grow, fee-free first A$100k payments and FX) + partner perks; varies by countryGlobal paymentsOpen2026-10-22
Innovate UK BridgeAI Deployment CatalystInnovate UK (UKRI)Share of £5M per competition (three parallel calls: decision-critical systems, operational systems, assurance & compliance); per-project…Innovation grantOpen2026-10-23
Rippling Startup StackRipplingUp to 6 months free on Rippling products (subscription + implementation), first 3 months of EOR free; dollar value not statedHR / PayrollOpen2026-10
UK R&D Tax Relief (Merged Scheme & ERIS)HM Revenue & CustomsMerged RDEC: 20% taxable credit on qualifying R&D. ERIS (loss-making R&D-intensive SMEs): 186% total deduction plus payable credit up to…R&D tax creditOpen2026-10-22

Regional programs that include the United Kingdom (6)

ProgramWhat you getWhereStatusVerified
UpCloud Startup ProgramUpCloudUp to $25,000 in cloud credits (Tier 1); $5,000 for Nordic startups (Tier 2); $1,000 for other EU/EEA/UK/CH startups (Tier 3), plus…7 countriesOpen2026-10-30
Lambda Cloud compute offer for Y Combinator companiesLambda$20,000 in Lambda Cloud credits for on-demand GPU instances18 countriesOpen2026-10-22
fal Startup Programfal$1,000 starter pack, growing to $2,500 and $5,000 as monthly fal spend risesEurope, AsiaOpen2026-10-22
Lambda Cloud credits for NVIDIA Inception membersLambda$1,000 in Lambda Cloud credits for on-demand GPU instances (B200, H100, A100, GH200)18 countriesOpen2026-10-22
Google Cloud Research CreditsGoogleGoogle Cloud credits sized to your proposal (amount not stated on page), valid 1 year75 countriesOpen2026-10-22
Zoho for StartupsZohoZoho Wallet credits in two stages (amount not shown on page), valid 360 days, usable across Zoho apps23 countriesOpen2026-10-22

Other countries

Program terms change often. Open a program to see its official source and verification date, and confirm on the provider's page before you apply. Spotted something out of date? Report a correction.