TheGrantIndex
TheGrantIndex / Countries / United States

Startup grants and programs in the United States (2026)

Updated · Built from The Grant Index data; every program links its official source and the date we last verified it

We track 32 programs open to startups in the United States beyond the worldwide ones: 29 national or local and 3 regional programs that include the United States. 25 are open now and 7 are paused until their next round. By type: Government Grants (17), Banking & Payments (5), Research & Students (4), GPU & Compute (2), Data & Analytics (1).

The largest headline value among open national or local programs is ARPA-E UNLOCK SBIR/STTR (DOE) from U.S. Department of Energy — ARPA-E (Awards from $323,090 up to $4,630,944; ~$45M total program funding (DE-FOA-0003631)). 17 of the national programs are government grants, vouchers or tax credits; 2 of them come from U.S. National Science Foundation. 6 accept students or researchers. The next dated deadline or opening is 4 November 2026 (NSF SBIR/STTR Phase I (America's Seed Fund)). On top of these, 234 worldwide programs (mostly cloud, AI and software credits) are open to United States-based startups; the eligibility checker filters all of them for your company.

National and local programs in the United States (29)

ProgramWhat you getTypeStatusVerified
ARPA-E UNLOCK SBIR/STTR (DOE)U.S. Department of Energy — ARPA-EAwards from $323,090 up to $4,630,944; ~$45M total program funding (DE-FOA-0003631).Innovation grant (SBIR/STTR)Open2026-10-23
DoD SBIR/STTR — Air Force & Space Force (AFWERX via DSIP)U.S. Department of the Air Force (AFWERX)Phase I up to $323,000 (up to 6 months); Direct-to-Phase II up to $2.1M (up to 24 months). Contracts, no equity.Innovation contract (SBIR/STTR)Open2026-10-30
Rho Partner PerksRhoPartner-perk value: Rho advertises 'up to $1M+ in savings' across its ~150-perk library (marketing aggregate, not cash; e.g. Algolia $10k…Banking perksOpen2026-10-22
USDA NIFA SBIR/STTRU.S. Department of Agriculture — NIFAPhase II awards $600,000–$650,000 (FY2027 NOFO, ~$24.75M total). Phase I awards were $125,000–$181,500 in the last published Phase I NOFO.Innovation grant (SBIR/STTR)Open2026-10-23
Brex Startup PerksBrexPartner-perk value: Brex advertises 'over $350K' in discounts and credits on AI/SaaS tools for Brex customers (marketing aggregate across…Banking perksOpen2026-10-22
Ramp Rewards / Startup PerksRampPartner-perk value: Ramp advertises 'over $350,000 in partner rewards' (aggregate across all partner offers, e.g. Datadog up to $100k…Banking perksOpen2026-10-22
NSF SBIR/STTR Phase I (America's Seed Fund)U.S. National Science FoundationPhase I grant up to $305,000; Phase II up to $1,250,000; Fast-Track up to $1,555,000 (NSF 26-510). NSF takes no equity.Innovation grant (SBIR/STTR)Open2026-10-23
Nebraska SBIR/STTR Grant ProgramNebraska Department of Economic DevelopmentPhase 0 up to $5,000; Phase I match up to $150,000 (or 65% of the federal award); Phase II match up to $300,000 (or 65%)SBIR matchingOpen2026-10-30
Illinois SBIR/STTR Matching ProgramIllinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity (DCEO)Up to $75,000 for federal Phase I awardees; up to $250,000 for Phase II awardeesSBIR matchingOpen2026-10-30
Hawaii HSBIR Matching GrantHawaii Technology Development Corporation (HTDC)Phase I match: up to 50% of your federal SBIR/STTR Phase I award, max $75,000; Phase 0 proposal support also offeredSBIR matchingOpen2026-10-30
NSF I-Corps National TeamsU.S. National Science FoundationUp to $50,000 award for the 7-week program (includes a $10,000 participation fee paid from the award)Commercialisation grantOpen2026-10-30
1517 Medici Project grants1517 FundStipend grants starting at $1,000 (no equity, no IP claim)Micro-grantOpen2026-10-22
Amplitude Tech for Black FoundersAmplitudeFull Amplitude Startup Plan free while criteria are met; dollar value not statedProduct analyticsOpen2026-10-22
Mercury PerksMercury270+ partner perks (e.g. AWS $5k credits, GitHub $10k credits, Notion 6 months free, Gusto 3 months free); total not statedBanking perksOpen2026-10-22
NAIRR Pilot — Research ResourcesU.S. National Science Foundation (NAIRR Pilot)12-month allocations of compute, model and platform resources from the NAIRR Pilot catalog (no $ value stated)Government AI computeOpen2026-10-22
NAIRR Pilot — Start-Up ProjectsU.S. National Science Foundation (NAIRR Pilot)Up to 2,000 GPU-hours (or equivalent) on one national AI resource for 3 monthsGovernment AI computeOpen2026-10-22
New Mexico SBIR/STTR Matching GrantNew Mexico Economic Development DepartmentState matching grant for federal SBIR/STTR awardees (maximum per award not stated on the program page)SBIR matchingOpen2026-10-30
NIH SBIR/STTR (Parent Omnibus PA-27-100 / PA-27-102)U.S. National Institutes of Health (with CDC & FDA)Phase I (R43/R41) and Phase II (R44/R42) grants; budget limits follow SBA guidelines and vary by NIH institute, with topic-specific…Innovation grant (SBIR/STTR)Open2026-10-23
NSF ACCESS AllocationsU.S. National Science Foundation (ACCESS)Free HPC/GPU allocations: Explore up to 400K, Discover 1.5M, Accelerate 3M ACCESS credits; Maximize largerGovernment HPC/GPU computeOpen2026-10-22
One North Carolina Small Business ProgramNorth Carolina Department of Commerce (Office of Science, Technology & Innovation)Reimburses part of SBIR/STTR Phase I proposal costs, plus SBIR and STTR matching funds for awardees (FY2027 round: $2M available)SBIR matchingOpen2026-10-30
Pilot Startup BoosterPilotFirst-year bundle for $750: onboarding, bookkeeping, federal & state tax filings, payroll/banking setupBookkeeping / taxOpen2026-10
Rippling Startup StackRipplingUp to 6 months free on Rippling products (subscription + implementation), first 3 months of EOR free; dollar value not statedHR / PayrollOpen2026-10
Colorado Advanced Industries Early-Stage Capital & Retention GrantColorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade (OEDIT)Up to $250,000 per project (cap can rise to $500,000 for projects spanning more than one advanced industry); company matches $2 for every $1Commercialisation grantPaused: opens Jan 4, 20272026-10-30
NASA SBIR/STTR Phase INASAPhase I up to $225,000 (SBIR 6 months; STTR 13 months); Phase II and SBIR Ignite follow-onsInnovation grant (SBIR/STTR)Paused: next round TBA2026-10-23
MassVentures START ProgramMassVentures16 Round 1 grants of $100,000 and 7 Round 2 grants of $200,000 (Round 3 is a seed investment, not counted here)SBIR commercialisation grantPaused: opens Feb 1, 20272026-10-30
Kentucky SBIR/STTR Matching FundsKY Innovation (Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development)Matches up to $100,000 for a Phase I project and up to $150,000 for a Phase II project (reimbursable grant)SBIR matchingPaused: next round TBA2026-10-30
ACL NIDILRR SBIR Phase I (Disability & Rehabilitation)U.S. Administration for Community Living (HHS)Phase I grants of $95,000–$100,000 for 6 months; 11 awards expected (~$1.1M total).Innovation grant (SBIR)Paused: next deadline Dec 16, 20262026-10-23
Delaware EDGE Grant — STEM TrackDelaware Division of Small BusinessUp to $750,000 in total split among STEM-track winners (award size scaled by pitch); 3:1 state-to-business matchStartup grantPaused: next round TBA2026-10-30
Google for Startups Accelerator: North America (Energy)GoogleEquity-free mentoring, Google product credits and Cloud credits (amounts not stated), plus Cloud TPU accessCorporate acceleratorPaused: next round TBA2026-10-23

Regional programs that include the United States (3)

ProgramWhat you getWhereStatusVerified
Lambda Cloud compute offer for Y Combinator companiesLambda$20,000 in Lambda Cloud credits for on-demand GPU instances18 countriesOpen2026-10-22
Lambda Cloud credits for NVIDIA Inception membersLambda$1,000 in Lambda Cloud credits for on-demand GPU instances (B200, H100, A100, GH200)18 countriesOpen2026-10-22
Google Cloud Research CreditsGoogleGoogle Cloud credits sized to your proposal (amount not stated on page), valid 1 year75 countriesOpen2026-10-22

Other countries

Program terms change often. Open a program to see its official source and verification date, and confirm on the provider's page before you apply. Spotted something out of date? Report a correction.